Is Soylent gluten free

No ingredient in Soylent Powder, Drink, or Coffiest naturally contains gluten. Since none of these products contain oat flour, the likelihood of cross-contamination is very low.

The only chance of cross-contamination comes with our Soylent Bar, as it contains oat protein. Throughout the entire sourcing and production process, oats have numerous opportunities to come into contact with surfaces that have also come into contact with wheat, barley or rye.

Additionally, avenin, the storage protein found in oats, poses additional challenges. Due to the similarities between the amino acid sequences of avenin and gluten, avenin can sometimes cause gluten-like immune responses for people with Celiac Disease.

The Celiac Support Association website hosts one study and links to several others on oats and Celiac Disease:

http://www.csaceliacs.org/celiac_disease_defined_oat_in_tolerance.jsp

Powered by Zendesk